Quality Team

EPA quality comprises of 5 full time positions and several departmental quality leads and quality support who work within their discipline but also have quality responsibilities.

The EPA quality Team

EPA Network Quality Manager                      Diane Murley

EPA Assistant Network Quality Manager      Ginny Marley

EPA Network Quality Officer                         David Stokely 

EPA Network Quality Lead                            Kayleigh Dexter

EPA Network Quality Practitioner                  Carol O’Gorman

EPA Network Quality Practitioner                  Megan Wright

EPA Network Quality Officer                         Johanna Langley

EPA Network Quality Officer                          Kevin Smith


Departmental quality leads

Blood Sciences JPUH                                    Marie Smith       

Clinical Biochemistry NNUH                          Martyn Hammond

Specimen Reception NNUH                         George Bailey

Immunology NNUH                                        Allyson Tyler

Haematology NNUH                                      Ben Thompson

Toxicology NNUH                                          Crystal Bancroft

Endocrinology NNUH                                     Susanne McMurray

Microbiology – Bacteriology                           Sara Grundy

Microbiology – Virology                                  Tim Crouch

Blood Sciences QEH                                     Aga Pieterse

Blood Sciences QEH (support)                      Jacqui Kennett

Andrology NNUH                                           Kelly Burton


Accreditation Status

The laboratories within the EPA network are required to be accredited to the international standard ISO 15189 Medical Laboratories – Requirements for quality and competence.

The following EPA departments are currently UKAS (United Kingdom Accreditation Service) accredited medical laboratories to BS EN ISO15189:2012. We are currently transitioning to the new standard ISO15189:2022.

  • Clinical Biochemistry at NNUH a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No. 10294
  • Haematology at NNUH a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No. 10295
  • Microbiology a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No. 10296
  • Blood Transfusion at NNUH a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No. 20492
  • Blood Transfusion at JPUH a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No. 21363
  • QEH Blood Sciences (including Blood Transfusion) a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No. 20494
  • Immunology a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No. 21365

The process of accreditation to BS EN ISO 15189:2012 is planned for a defined scope involving the following departments.  This will be carried out in a phased process as single site disciplines:

  • Analytical Specialist Chemistry at NNUH
  • Blood Sciences at JPUH
  • Andrology – NNUH and QEH sites

Applications for extensions to scope will be submitted to UKAS when the laboratories concerned are ready for assessment. 

 The EPA does not use the UKAS logo. 


EWG-H-006 Last updated 23/02/2024 (4)